Whitworth: Past, Present and Future: An outdoor tour

9 06 2014

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 13.38.21

With warmer weather on the way we invite you to join us for Whitworth: Past, Present & Future: An outdoor tour for those interested in finding out more about the Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester’s gallery in the park, whilst we undergo a £15 million redevelopment (opening Autumn).

Sarah Sanders from the Visitor Services team leads the first tour

Sarah Sanders from the Visitor Services team leads the first tour

The Whitworth’s very own Visitor Team will take you back through the Gallery’s illustrious 125 year history, from its humble beginnings as Grove House, a gallery established ‘for the perpetual gratification of the people of Manchester’, right up to the present day. Hear about what the redeveloped Whitworth will offer: brand new exhibition spaces, a fabulous art garden designed by Sarah Price, the innovative Clore Learning Studio and more… All this whilst taking a stroll through Whitworth Park, with views of the original façade of the building and encounters with some of the Whitworth’s collections of outdoor art.
Dates and times

Thursday 5 June, Thursday 3 July, Thursday 7 August, Thursday 4 September and Thursday 2 October
12.15 – 1pm
*Tours start at The Anchor, 508 Moss Lane East

Saturday 7 June, Saturday 5 July, Saturday 2 August, Saturday 6 September and Saturday 4 October
2 – 3pm
*Tours start at The Anchor, 508 Moss Lane East

Tours are wheelchair accessible
Booking

All tours are FREE, but booking is essential.

Please contact the Whitworth to book a tour at:

email: whitworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 7450

These parkland tours will go ahead even if it is raining – please wear appropriate footwear for a walk in the park, and be prepared for the Mancunian weather!

#galleryinthepark

Advertisement